News & Press: Newswire

Lawrence P. King Award Recipient Announced - Nancy B. Rapoport

Thursday, April 20, 2017   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Stephanie Cowart
Share |
Wauconda, IL, April 20, 2017 – The Commercial Law League of America (CLLA) and its Bankruptcy Section are pleased to present the King Award to Nancy B. Rapoport at the National Conference of Bankruptcy Judges (NCBJ) in Las Vegas in October 2017.
Each year, the Executive Council of the Commercial Law League’s Bankruptcy Section presents the Lawrence P. King Award to recognize a lawyer, judge, teacher or legislator who exemplifies the best in scholarship, advocacy, judicial administration or legislative activities in the field of bankruptcy. The award is designed to recognize the lifetime achievements of Professor King, which include contributing to the practice of bankruptcy law through teaching, by working to elevate the profession and through bankruptcy-related legislative activities.    
This year’s recipient — Nancy B. Rapoport — is Special Counsel to the President of University of Nevada Las Vegas, Garmen Turner Gordon Professor of Law at William S. Boyd School of Law and Affiliate Professor of Business Law and Ethics at Lee Business School.  
Professor Rapoport earned her B.A. summa cum laude from Rice University in 1982 and her J.D. from Stanford Law School in 1985. She clerked for the Honorable Joseph T. Sneed III on the United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit and then practiced law (primarily bankruptcy law) with Morrison & Foerster in San Francisco from 1986-1991.
Rapoport began teaching at The Ohio State University College of Law in 1991, and she moved from Assistant Professor to Associate Professor with tenure in 1995 to Associate Dean for Student Affairs (1996) and Professor (1998). She served as Dean of the University of Nebraska College of Law from 1998-2000. She then served as Dean and Professor of Law at the University of Houston Law Center from July 2000 to May 2006 and as Professor of Law from June 2006 to June 2007, when she left to join the faculty at William S. Boyd School of Law. She served as Interim Dean of Boyd from 2012 to 2013, as Senior Advisor to the President of UNLV from 2014-2015, and as Acting Executive Vice President & Provost from 2015-2016.
Rapoport is admitted to the bars of the states of California, Ohio, Nebraska, Texas, and Nevada and of the United States Supreme Court.  In 2001, she was elected to membership in the American Law Institute, and in 2002, she received a Distinguished Alumna Award from Rice University. She is a board member of the National Museum of Organized Crime and Law Enforcement (the Mob Museum) and the Vice President for Research Grants for the American Bankruptcy Institute. She is also a Fellow of the American Bar Foundation and a Fellow of the American College of Bankruptcy. In 2009, the Association of Media and Entertainment Counsel presented her with the Public Service Counsel Award. She was recently appointed as the Independent Member of the Fee Review Committee in In re Caesars Entertainment Operating Co., Inc., U.S. Bankruptcy Court, Northern District of Illinois (2015-present).
Her specialties are bankruptcy ethics, ethics in governance, law firm behavior, and the depiction of lawyers in popular culture. Among her published works are Enron and Other Corporate Fiascos: The Corporate Scandal Reader 2d (Nancy B. Rapoport, Jeffrey D. Van Niel & Bala G. Dharan, eds.) and Law Firm Job Survival Manual:  From First Interview to Partnership, also co-authored with Jeffrey D. Van Niel (Wolters Kluwer 2014). She has also appeared in the Academy Award®-nominated movie, Enron: The Smartest Guys in the Room (Magnolia Pictures 2005). In her spare time, she competes, pro-am, in American Rhythm and American Smooth ballroom dancing.
The CLLA events at NCBJ will take place on Oct. 9. They include the CLLA Luncheon, featuring the King Award presentation, Keynote presentation “The Supreme Court:  Appointments to the Statutory and Constitutional Interpretation by the Court in Bankruptcy Cases.” Following is the Honorable Frank W. Koger Memorial Education Program. For more information, please visit the Events page on


View the PDF version


    Commercial Law League of America

    3005 Tollview Drive
    Rolling Meadows, IL 60008

    Phone: (312) 240-1400
    Fax: (847) 584-3939